Results 1 to 1 of 1
  1. #1
    The Trinity Dr. Death's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Where I'm at.
    Blog Entries

    2013 World MMA Awards:

    It's that time again for the end of year World MMA Awards with Fighters Only announcing the finalists, and a handful of names show up more than once in the 21 categories. UFC middleweight champion Chris Weidman, Urijah Faber, Vitor Belfort and Travis Browne are among those vying for wins in multiple categories. The World MMA Awards, which enters its sixth year, honors achievements from Oct. 1, 2012, to Dec. 31, 2013. Winners, whom are determined by fan voting, will be announced on Feb. 7 during a ceremony at Venetian and Palazzo Resort, Hotel & Casinos in Las Vegas.

    Voting went live at midnight when fans will have the opportunity to leave their mark on MMA history and select the winners across 21 categories until the end of January.

    You can cast your votes at

    Here are the official finalists for the Sixth Annual Fighters Only World MMA Awards:

    Charles “Mask” Lewis Fighter of the Year

    1. Vitor Belfort
    2. Urijah Faber
    3. Demetrious Johnson
    4. Chris Weidman
    5. Cain Velasquez

    Female Fighter of the Year

    1. Joanne Calderwood
    2. Alexis Davis
    3. Jessica Eye
    4. Holly Holm
    5. Ronda Rousey

    Breakthrough Fighter of the Year

    1. Travis Browne
    2. T.J. Grant
    3. Conor McGregor
    4. Nick Newell
    5. Khabib Nurmagomedov

    International Fighter of the Year

    1. Shinya Aoki
    2. Alexander Gustafsson
    3. Conor McGregor
    4. Khabib Nurmagomedov
    5. Alexander Shlemenko

    Fight of the Year

    1. Wanderlei Silva vs. Brian Stann (UFC on Fuel TV 8)
    2. Michael Chandler vs. Eddie Alvarez II (Bellator 106)
    3. Jon Jones vs. Alexander Gustafsson (UFC 165)
    4. Gilbert Melendez vs. Diego Sanchez (UFC 166)
    5. Mark Hunt vs. Antonio Silva (UFC Fight Night 33)

    Knockout of the Year

    1. Vitor Belfort (vs. Luke Rockhold, UFC on FX 8)
    2. Junior Dos Santos (vs. Mark Hunt, UFC 160)
    3. Emanuel Newton (vs. “King Mo” Lawal, Bellator 90)
    4. Julio Cesar Neves Jr. (vs. Dener Dos Santos, WOCS 28)
    5. Chris Weidman (vs. Anderson Silva, UFC 162)

    Submission of the Year

    1. Olivier Fontaine (vs. Sofian Benchohra, Lyon FC)
    2. Josh Burkman (vs. Jon Fitch, WSOF 3)
    3. Urijah Faber (vs. Ivan Menjivar, UFC 157)
    4. Rose Namajunas (vs. Kathina Catron, Invicta 5)
    5. Kenny Robertson (vs. Brock Jardine, UFC 157)

    Comeback of the Year

    1. Travis Browne (vs. Alistair Overeem, UFC Fight Night 26)
    2. Blagoi Ivanov (career)
    3. Robbie Lawler (career)
    4. Michelle Waterson (vs. Jessica Penne, Invicta 5)
    5. Tom Watson (vs. Stanislav Nedkov, UFC on Fuel TV 7)

    Shawn Tompkins Coach of the Year

    1. Henri Hooft
    2. Duane Ludwig
    3. Ray Longo
    4. Andre Pederneiras
    5. Duke Roufus

    Gym of the Year

    1. AKA
    2. Jackson-Winkeljohn MMA
    3. Nova Uniao
    4. Roufusport
    5. Team Alpha Male

    Trainer of the Year

    1. Doug Balzarini
    2. Jake Bonacci
    3. Jonathan Chaimberg
    4. Mike Dolce
    5. Joel Jamieson

    Referee of the Year

    1. Herb Dean
    2. Marc Goddard
    3. Yves Lavigne
    4. John McCarthy
    5. Mario Yamasaki

    Ringcard Girl of the Year

    1. Jade Bryce
    2. Arianny Celeste
    3. Kat Kelley
    4. Brittney Palmer
    5. Mercedes Terrell

    Leading Man

    1. Victor Cui
    2. Lorenzo Fertitta
    3. Bjorn Rebney
    4. Ray Sefo
    5. Dana White

    Personality of the Year

    1. Bruce Buffer
    2. Kenny Florian
    3. Joe Rogan
    4. Bas Rutten
    5. Chael Sonnen

    Best Promotion

    1. Bellator MMA
    2. Cage Warriors
    3. ONE FC
    4. UFC
    5. WSOF

    Best Lifestyle Clothing

    1. Bad Boy
    2. Fear the Fighter
    3. Headrush
    4. Roots of Fight
    5. Torque

    Best Technical Clothing

    1. Bad Boy
    2. Clinch Gear
    3. Hayabusa
    4. Jaco
    5. Venum

    Best Technical Equipment

    1. Bad Boy
    2. Century
    3. Everlast
    4. Hayabusa
    5. Venum

    Media Source of the Year

    1. Inside MMA (AXS TV)
    2. MMA Fighting
    3. MMAjunkie
    4. Sherdog
    5. UFC Tonight (Fox Sports)

    Journalist of the Year

    1. Mike Chiappetta (Fox Sports)
    2. Gareth A Davies (The Daily Telegraph/Fox Sports)
    3. Ben Fowlkes (USA TODAY/MMAjunkie)
    4. Ariel Helwani (MMA Fighting/Fox Sports)
    5. John Morgan (USA TODAY/MMAjunkie)

    Remember to cast your votes here!

    UFC Womens Bantamweight Champion
    Ronda Rousey


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

© 2011 eWrestlingNews, All Rights Reserved.