View RSS Feed

JJKH

Random thoughts and opinions: Episode 0 - An introduction

Rate this Entry

Hello reader,

I've been a fan of Pro-Wrestling as long as I can remember; I have vague memories of being plonked in front of the old I.T.V. World of Sport wrestling as a toddler. But my true fascination with this art form (& it is an art form) came when we got Sky television for the first time and had access to the latter end of W.W.E.'s original Hulkamania driven boom period. I distinctly remember that my first P.P.V. was the 1990 Survivor Series on, at the time, Sky Movies. I was instantly hooked and it has remained something I am openly passionate about to this day.

Given my length of fandom; I am always fascinated by how the industry & my attitude towards it changes and evolves over time. If you asked 6 year old me who was the be all and end all when it came to the industry then I would have said Hulk Hogan; but ask me my opinion on Hogan now and I would start by saying I have never had a hero that has gone down so much in my estimation over time as I've learned more about the man behind the gimmick. Don't worry; I'm not going on a Hogan hate trip here; I'm just using it as personal example of what I'm talking about. As an uninformed kid who first gets into wrestling you take what's in front of you as it is; but as you get older and your passion levels remain the same you look back and it's a fascinating study of both psychology and the wrestling business.

So what's the point of what I'm saying? Well, I reflect back on 6 year old me as I stare 30 down the barrel this year and I marvel that something like wrestling is still a part of my life. It's probably been the most constant thing in an my ever changing and evolving existence; it's been a huge part of my life. Yes, I moan and gripe and hate it at times; but, in the end, I always come back to it.