View RSS Feed

Wombat Attack

How to Produce and Direct an episode of RAW

Rate this Entry
I have zero experience producing, directing or promoting a product that consists of a professional wrestling TV program. That said - I have to seriously question whether or not anyone working for the WWE who does produce & direct these RAW shows has anymore experience than I do.

I will admit that I only watched the first 10 mins. of RAW and the last 15 mins... So I can't speak in an educated manner in regards to the rest of the program - but the gripes I will express are essentially an of on-going nature.

Let's begin with this new Punk-Lawler sub-angle going on now. One of the major bullet points as to why this angle exists is that Lawler will refuse to recognize CM Punk as the best in the world. This being a work, might be the stupidest most detrimental work ever green lit by the WWE creative staffs. CM Punk is WWE World Champion - if you're Jerry Lawler, an employed host of RAW - a show for the company whose championship Punk wears - and a wrestler who never won that title in his own right it'd be lunacy to have Lawler not say he's the best in the world. In the 1980s and early 90s, when the WWF could do no wrong (mostly) this never would be the case. If you're a WWE promoter you're doing your company and its title a disservice by having announcers not admit the champion is the best in the world. It should just be a given - ESPECIALLY if its CM Punk, who quite frankly is the legit best full-time wrestler in the world - work or no work.

okay, onto the next one...