View RSS Feed

Bart27

WWE: The Biggest Tease On The Planet

Rate this Entry
I'm new to this but thought I'd join to air my views as it appears so many others do.

Having followed the WWE since I was a little kid I'm now coming to a point where I'm becoming increasingly frustrated with what I'm seeing.

The "PG" rating has become a real pain in the preverbial by not allowing stroylines develop to their full potential and stunting some of the newer superstars growth. The old school allowed storylines develop over months before we got a conclusion and in the attitude era we saw storylines develop and encompass so many different people at times that it became so good you had at least 10 main top superstars that could at any one moment spring a suprise and change the whole landscape. (HHH, HBK, Y2J, Kane, Undertaker, Stone Cold, The Rock, Mick Foley, Kurt Angle etc, etc, etc)

The last greatest storyline I can remember is the invasion. Since then we have been treated to gimmicks and storylines that last no longer than it takes for me to go to the bathroom.

Nowadays I liken the WWE to my wife. All the potential in the world and knows it. Teases you constantly of what you can have and can remember having and then shuts up shop and does something that is only mildly interesting.

Cena and Nexus is a prime example. Did he turn heel? No! Why? Because Cena makes to much money for them being the guy all the kids like. If he turned heel, and they did it right it would have been one of the best storylines ever.

Do they allow the tag teams to develop a division that could replicate that of the old days? No! Instead they run good tag teams for no more than a few months and then split them up, don't follow through on the storylines and leave them to flounder in the wilderness of singles competition. I hate to say it but whilst TNA is not my favourite their tag team division is just awesome compared to WWE's.