View RSS Feed

Analyst

The Kevin Nash Argument: Deficiencies deconstructed from a marketing perspective

Rate this Entry
To my fellow members of the Internet Wrestling Community,

I have been a fan of professional wrestling my entire life and a reader of this website for the last 3 years; yet, I have never posted before. Nevertheless, I am unable to bite my tongue now due to Kevin Nash's recent controversial remarks.

I will recognize certain things that I have always respected about Kevin Nash: his ability to manage his financial assets is very commendable. His ability to consistently and effectively manage his career from its glory days to the present is something that deserves recognition. In any career, whether it is in wrestling or chemical engineering, the ability to strategically plan over a career life cycle is something that is surprisingly scare among even the most prodigiously talented in their chosen fields.

Nevertheless, Kevin Nash has disrespected not only a great deal of his colleagues with his recent comments, but also wrestling's most passionate fanbase.

I am going to deconstruct Kevin Nash's remarks from a new perspective: not one from the perspective of a passionate wrestling fan (or "smark" as such fans are derisively notated), but from an academic, strategic marketing perspective.

Firstly, I find the viewpoints of of those in the professional wrestling industry (former, current, and other powerful figures) to be anomalous compared to other industries concerning their treatment and lack of respect to their most dedicated fans ("smarks"). The prevailing opinion among the professional wrestling elite toward the "smark" is one of disdain veering on disgust. The "smark" is seen as a negligible commodity. His opinion is worthy of nothing but disregard in the best scenario, derision in the worst.