View RSS Feed

Dr_Cuboid

PART 1 - “The WWE Wrestling-Mark Consumer Lifecycle” -

Rate this Entry
Little Jimmy Full Graph.jpg
Greetings, fellow wrestling (s)mark. My name is Dr_Cuboid (well not really) and this is my first blog on this site. Like many of you, I’ve been a fan of pro wrestling my entire life. The image that you see above is something I created out of sheer boredom at work.

A bit of background on myself (I’m going somewhere with this, its not filler),

• I just turned 26 years old last week
  • I’ve been a fan since I was about 8 years old (around 1994);
  • I work full time;
  • I watch MMA religiously and train in Brazilian JiuJitsu;
  • I broke up with my longtime girlfriend about 2 years ago and haven’t had a proper relationship since
  • I still hang out with my buddies from university and we often bitch about wrestling.

Why is this important and why should you care?

Well, first off, by introducing myself, I have allowed you to do the following:

• Identify which demographic, I fall into i.e. 18-35 Male, long-term wrestling fan
  • Identifiy psychographic consumer data such as my other interests and personal situation.

Wresting is a business first and foremost. Any business-owner will tell you that the first step to marketing your business is ALWAYS to identify your target market. Vincent Kennedy McMahon, MBA (Harvard), understands this concept extremely well.

Ask yourself a question, “am I the target audience for Raw and Smackdown? If not, who is?”

Secondly, I come from a Marketing background, so If you will do me the honour of reading all the way through this blog I will introduce you to a concept that some of you may already be familiar with, but others will find completely novel. I call this concept, “The WWE Wrestling-Mark Consumer Lifecycle”.