View RSS Feed

All Dre Everyday

Super Kick: Revamping WWE's Pay Per Views

Rating: 3 votes, 3.33 average.
Hey guys, HB-Dre here with the first, of what I hope to be many more blogs on my views on wrestling, in my weekly Super Kick. I'm new at blogging but have always had a passion for writing, so hopefully that passion comes through as a coherent and well thought out blog that creates some sort of reaction, be it good or bad.

Today I'm going to bring to you attention my thoughts(maybe just ramblings depending on how you see it) on revamping the landscape of WWE's pay per views.

Let me start by saying that I was well pleased when I saw that for 2012, the E was going back to 12 PPV's for the year. In the past, I felt that more than 12 made it hard to book matches with decent build ups without feeling rushed. So kudos to WWE for going back to what amounts to as the monthly PPV format. However, thats about the only improvement that WWE has made to their PPVs this year with the exception of another change they made, that I will touch on later on in this blog. Here are a few of the things I would tweak for PPVs.

1. The BIG 5, not the BIG 4

We all know the BIG 4 Pay Per Views that WWE has to offer, The Royal Rumble, WrestleMania, SummerSlam, and Survivor Series; but to many fans it was never the Big 4, it was the BIG 5. WWE needs to bring back the King of the Ring. The KOTR is part of WWE history and has been a critical stepping stone for WWE legends and superstars to catapult them to the next level of stardom. I would make on minor change to the KOTR and that would be have the winner of the tournament be awarded a title shot at SummerSlam; this way KOTR could serve to SummerSlam the way the Royal Rumble serves to WrestleMania. Think of what added prestige it would bring to the KOTR tournament and to the main event of SummerSlam if the winner was awarded a heavyweight title shot.

2. Gimmick PPVs are ok...if not OVERDONE.