View RSS Feed

machoo mann

Dean Ambrose - slowly rising to superstardom?

Rate this Entry
machoo mann blogging here again, this time about FCW's the most captivating wrestler and persona, Dean Ambrose. I wasn't quite aware of Jon Moxley (his in-ring name at CZW) nor his ring work or matches there. I recently have watched some FCW footage and most of all, I studied Dean Ambroses path from his debut to current time at FCW. He has had great matches, of course with the likes of Seth Rollins (match is posted below), Damien Sandow and even William Regal, whom with he had a great, brawl-styled match which stood out for me with it's stiffness. His movement in the ring is something I haven't witnessed before - it's unique and captivating at the same time and also very refreshing when you have watched WWE TV-matches a lot. Because we all know WWE TV-matches are all quite similar in-ring wise. His moveset is very brawl-sound; lariats, stiff punches but still he can play great in-ring psychology.

Now to the part what got me to jump in Ambroses bandwagon; the persona. Something which not a lot of WWE's current roster members are familiar of. He plays some sort of a loose cannon, if you will and he's doing it damn well. His facial expressions, manures, it's like he is cocky and a little out of it at the same time. It's not a coincidence that he's referred to guys like 'Rowdy' Roddy Piper or the great Brian Pillman. He has cut some great promos (my favourite one is posted under) and he reminds me of Heath Ledgers Joker (yes really, even Sting's Joker-impression is put in shame.) By the way, did you know that some of the FCW guys can cut a better promo than almost a 30 % of WWE's current roster. And there I was last week, shouting for a opportunity for the lower midcard..oh the irony! Ambrose is almost like brothers with the microphone and his persona shines through his promos.