View RSS Feed

Mikkaelson

An Intellectual look at the Royal Rumble

Rate this Entry
I am a hardcore pro wrestling fan. And as a pro wrestling fan who believes he knows it all, I have certain responsibilities. I was going to save my next blog for after the Royal Rumble but decided that this was not very brave of me. No, no, no. One of my key responsibilities is to spray you all with my arrogance and start making some predictions.

The most important of these is clearly who is going to win the Royal Rumble itself. I have finally settled on a winner. Wade Barrett - and that is my final decision. The WWE will continue to push the Barrett Barrage as too much time has been invested in the angle to throw it away now.

Now lets dismiss the other contenders via a simple elimination process -

I'm aware that the WWE wish to have Chris Jericho face CM Punk in a "best in the world" match at Wrestlemania. I would hence write off Jericho as a potential winner of the Rumble. I believe the feud between Jericho and Punk would create enough interest in it's own right without having a title at stake. The claim to being "the best in the world" would be enough to get fans to shell out their hard earned readies.

Historically, it is a common occurance that the winner of the Royal Rumble does indeed to go on and lift the respective world title that they challange for at Wrestlemania. In fact, off the top of my head, I can't think of a wrestler - Outside of Alberto Del Rio, who has won the Rumble, gone to Wrestlemania and then lost. So I'm predicting the winner will indeed be the next WWE or World Champion. This theory, in my opinion, takes Sheamus out of the running. As someone who has lifted the WWE title twice already, I do not believe that the creative team will re-visit old ground and have him lift the title again. I think Sheamus will have a much more productive role in the build up to Wrestlemania as the "hard done by" babyface.