View RSS Feed

BichinRichStanley

Does Sex and Profanity Make Wrestling Better?

Rating: 4 votes, 3.75 average.
Thank you for reading my first blog post! Please go easy on me with the criticism because I am a newbie. My love for wrestling has run deep since I was a child and has been pretty constant except for a breif hiatus from 2004-2008. I loved the late eighties when most people thought it was unscripted (I won't call it "fake") , the ridiculous characters of the early nineties, and of course the attitude era. I was about fourteen in 1998 and remember the first time I seen Vince McMahon open raw with an enouncement that "due to the new creative direction of the show it was adviced to not let children watch raw" or something to that effect. My parents didn't watch wrestling so they had no idea how inappropriate the content was becoming and I loved every minute of the show.

Now by 1999 I was drinking Pepsi the way Stone Cold chugged beer and had two words for anyone willing to listen. For the first time in my life I wasn't the only person (besides my two cousins) who thought wrestling was cool. Even as a nine year old I was drawn to the heel characters. When Shawn Michaels put Marty Jannetty throught the Barber Shop window I became his biggest fan. The attitude era was the height of wrestling entertainment. It was edgy, well scripted, exciting, unpredictable, and the matches were top notch for the most part. All good thing eventually end and once WWE won the war and bought WCW and ECW the ratings fell.