View RSS Feed

Jordan_Towers

WWE's Current State: PG Status, Shawn Michaels, and More!

Rating: 3 votes, 3.33 average.
Good morning fellow marks! I've been coming here for a couple of years and just now registered, so we'll see how this goes!

First of all, this is not a PG bashing session. I personally am not a fan, but that doesn't mean that it doesn't sell. John Cena taking his shirt off for mommy and always pulling a win out for the kiddies puts asses in seats. I know everybody loves to hate on him, but I say hate on his character. The man bleeds the wrestling business and works his ass to the bone. John Cena is not the problem, his CHARACTER is the problem.

What ever happened to performers taking every event seriously? There was a time when winning the IC title was a big deal, but now so many people fast forward through some of the best matches of this generation. Performers need to start LIVING their character. The best superstars in wrestling history used magnified versions of their own persona and that made every word they said believable.

Can we get rid of scripts now, please? I understand that not every wrestler is good on the mic, but to get to the WWE level you should be pretty damn close. You would think that to follow an act like the attitude era, a good shoot promo would be almost required! And even if a performer is not a talker, give him a mouth piece.

Bring back managers/valets. Shawn Michaels got as far as he did in this biz partially due to his time with Sensational Sherri. Granted he is uber-talented and an incredible worker, but there is a good chance his singles career would have flatlined had it not been for sherri to bounce his persona off of. It was like sunlight through a magnifying glass. And no, Vickie does not count for Dolph Ziggler.