PDA

View Full Version : UFC on Fox 5: Results/Standings!



Dr. Death
12-09-2012, 11:18 PM
UFC on Fox 5: Henderson vs. Diaz is over and UFC officials announced the winners and bonus amounts following the event, which took place at Seattle's KeyArena. Yves Edwards and John Albert earned $65,000 bonuses for their performances at Saturday's UFC on FOX 5 event, and Scott Jorgensen doubled up with $130,000 in bonus cash. Edwards earned the "Knockout of the Night" award, Jorgensen won the "Submission of the Night" bonus, and then picked up "Fight of the Night" honors for his first-round win over Albert. Jorgensen (14-6 MMA, 3-2 UFC) opened up the card with a thrilling finish that originally was just seen on Facebook – though it made its way onto the close of the prelims on FX. The bantamweight took Albert's back with 10 seconds left in the first round, locked in a rear-naked choke and squeezed for all it was worth. He forced Albert (7-4 MMA, 1-3 UFC) to tap with less than one second left in the first round, and the thrilling finish was good enough to get him a second bonus – and help put $65,000 in Albert's pocket, as well – for "Fight of the Night." Edwards (42-18-1 MMA, 10-6 UFC) was fighting for the first time in a year and his knockout of Jeremy Stephens (20-9 MMA, 7-7 UFC) was impressive in that it was the first time Stephens has been knocked out in his career. Stephens was setting the striking tone in the first round, but when he threw a right hand, Edwards threw one at the same time that landed first and put Stephens on the canvas. Edwards followed him to the ground, landed a few punches, and then a right elbow sealed the deal. Also Saturday's UFC on FOX 5 event provided the FOX network with a ratings uptick compared to its previous two UFC shows. Though not yet official, the overnight numbers for the broadcast, according to TVbytheNumbers (http://tvbythenumbers.zap2it.com/2012/12/09/tv-ratings-saturday-ufc-beats-up-american-giving-awards-the-borrowers-frosty-the-snowman-specials/160894/), had FOX in the top spot among adults ages 18-49. A average of 3.41 million viewers tuned in for the broadcast for a 5 share. This Event also drew in 14,412 fans to the KeyArena in Seattle Saturday night for a Live Gate of $1.5 million. Now on to the results:

UFC on Fox 5: Results!

MAIN (FOX, 8 p.m. ET)

Benson Henderson (http://mmajunkie.com/fighters/benson-henderson) def. Nate Diaz (http://mmajunkie.com/fighters/nate-diaz) via unanimous decision (50-43, 50-45, 50-45) - to retain lightweight title

Alexander Gustafsson (http://mmajunkie.com/fighters/alexander-gustafsson) def. Mauricio Rua (http://mmajunkie.com/fighters/mauricio-rua) via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-26)

Rory MacDonald (http://mmajunkie.com/fighters/rory-macdonald) def. BJ Penn (http://mmajunkie.com/fighters/bj-penn) via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-26, 30-27)
[Penn was sent directly to a hospital following the fight and not made available for comment. UFC president Dana White (http://www.fightline.com/fl/profiles/197/dana-white/) told the post-fight show on Fuel TV that he hopes there is just one step next for "The Prodigy." "BJ will probably retire," White said. "I wouldn't mind seeing that. Rory looked better than he's ever looked. You don't see body punches like that. BJ is a warrior who doesn't give up. I've got so much respect for him. I'd like to see him retire."]

Matt Brown (http://mmajunkie.com/fighters/matt-brown) def. Mike Swick (http://mmajunkie.com/fighters/mike-swick) via KO (punches - classic left/right combo)) @ 2:31 of Round 2

PRELIMINARY (FX, 5 p.m. ET)

Yves Edwards (http://mmajunkie.com/fighters/yves-edwards) def. Jeremy Stephens (http://mmajunkie.com/fighters/jeremy-stephens) via KO (punch and elbows) @ 1:55 of Round 1

Raphael Assuncao (http://mmajunkie.com/fighters/rafael-assuncao) def. Mike Easton (http://mmajunkie.com/fighters/mike-easton) via unanimous decision (29-28, 30-27, 30-27)

Ramsey Nijem (http://mmajunkie.com/fighters/ramsey-nijem) def. Joe Proctor (http://mmajunkie.com/fighters/joe-proctor) via unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28)

Daron Cruickshank (http://mmajunkie.com/fighters/daron-cruickshank) def. Henry Martinez (http://mmajunkie.com/fighters/henry-martinez) via KO (kick) @ 2:57 of Round 2
[Martinez came in two pounds over and had to forfeit 20-percent of his purse to Cruickshank for missing weight]

Abel Trujillo (http://mmajunkie.com/fighters/abel-trujillo) def. Marcus LeVesseur (http://mmajunkie.com/fighters/marcus-levesseur) via TKO (knees) @ 3:56 of Round 2

Dennis Siver (http://mmajunkie.com/fighters/dennis-siver) def. Nam Phan (http://mmajunkie.com/fighters/nam-phan) via unanimous decision (30-24, 30-25, 30-26)

PRELIMINARY (Facebook, 4:30 p.m. ET)

Scott Jorgensen (http://mmajunkie.com/fighters/scott-jorgensen) def. John Albert (http://mmajunkie.com/fighters/john-albert) via submission (rear-naked choke) @ 4:59 of Round 1

-------------------------------

UFC on Fox 5 Contest Results!
This contest was worth a total of 231 pts.

01. FLWWEFan = 173 pts
02. Dr. Death = 146 pts
03. Wwf1998 = 133 pts
04. cy1911 = 131 pts
05. (Tied) magglis = 108 pts
05. (Tied) VanHooliganX = 108 pts
07. trips = 99 pts
08. Robstar = 95 pts
09. Darkside Ron Garvin = 88 pts

Congratulations to FLWWEFan for an outstanding win and a remarkable 173 pts score - Great Job my friend!! Also everybody welcome our newest entrant/friend - Darkside Ron Garvin.

----------------------------

UFC Overall Contest Standings!

01. Dr. Death = 2143 pts
02 trips = 1921 pts
03. VanHooliganX = 1531 pts
04. Robstar = 1229 pts
05. magglis = 1104 pts
06. FLWWEFan = 1006 pts
07. akbar = 973 pts
08. cy1911 = 463 pts
09. Wwf1998 = 296 pts
10. Zilvis = 142 pts
11. MattY2JHBK = 116 pts
12. Jed I Knight = 103 pts
13. Destruction = 98 pts
14. Automatic =97 pts
15. Darkside Ron Garvin = 88 pts

FLWWEFan moves up a spot in the Overall Standings and both magglis and FLWWEFan break the 1000 pts mark.

---------------------------

Our next contest will be:

UFC on FX 6: "TUF: Smashes"
Date: December 14, 2012
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Venue: Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre
Broadcast: FX, FUEL TV

MAIN (FX, 9 p.m. ET)

Ross Pearson (http://mmajunkie.com/fighters/ross-pearson) vs. George Sotiropoulos (http://mmajunkie.com/fighters/george-sotiropoulos)
Hector Lombard (http://mmajunkie.com/fighters/hector-lombard) vs. Rousimar Palhares (http://mmajunkie.com/fighters/rousimar-palhares)
Brad Scott (http://mmajunkie.com/fighters/brad-scott) vs. Robert Whittaker (http://mmajunkie.com/fighters/robert-whitaker) - "TUF: Smashes" welterweight-tournament final
Colin Fletcher (http://mmajunkie.com/fighters/colin-fletcher) vs. Norman Parke (http://mmajunkie.com/fighters/norman-parke) - "TUF: Smashes" lightweight-tournament final

PRELIMINARY (FUEL TV, 6 p.m. ET)

Joey Beltran (http://mmajunkie.com/fighters/joey-beltran) vs. Igor Pokrajac (http://mmajunkie.com/fighters/igor-pokrajac)
Seth Baczynski (http://mmajunkie.com/fighters/seth-baczynski) vs. Mike Pierce (http://mmajunkie.com/fighters/mike-pierce)
Ben Alloway (http://mmajunkie.com/fighters/ben-alloway) vs. Manuel Rodriguez (http://mmajunkie.com/fighters/manuel-rodriguez)
Brendan Loughnane (http://mmajunkie.com/fighters/brendan-loughnane) vs. Mike Wilkinson (http://mmajunkie.com/fighters/mike-wilkinson)
Cody Donovan (http://mmajunkie.com/fighters/cody-donovan) vs. Nick Penner (http://mmajunkie.com/fighters/nick-penner)

There are only 3 more contests for this year.

magglis
12-09-2012, 11:37 PM
01. FLWWEFan = 173 pts
02. Dr. Death = 146 pts
03. Wwf1998 = 133 pts
04. cy1911 = 131 pts
05. (Tied) magglis = 108 pts
05. (Tied) VanHooliganX = 108 pts
07. trips = 99 pts
08. Robstar = 95 pts
09. Darkside Ron Garvin = 88 pts

Congratulations to FLWWEFan for an outstanding win and a remarkable 173 pts score - Great Job my friend!! Also everybody welcome our newest entrant/friend - Darkside Ron Garvin.


How the hell that happened;)

Great review of the show Dr.D.It was a night of surprising wins and without enough finishes i must say.For the next show I'm hoping Freakshow will win the TUF

Robstar
12-10-2012, 12:14 AM
As I said, I really need to stop picking with my heart. I highly doubted Penn would win but picked him anyway. Oh well, hopefully I can redeem with TUF:Smashes - go the Aussies! Good job FLWWEfan, maybe Dr.Death's highly questionable standings will be in for a shake up next year! ;)

Just saying.......he IS leading, so.....:rolleyes:

JK Death :D

Dr. Death
12-10-2012, 08:51 AM
As I said, I really need to stop picking with my heart. I highly doubted Penn would win but picked him anyway. Oh well, hopefully I can redeem with TUF:Smashes - go the Aussies! Good job FLWWEfan, maybe Dr.Death's highly questionable standings will be in for a shake up next year! ;)

Just saying.......he IS leading, so.....:rolleyes:

JK Death :D


LOL, well you know I do keep the score so.... yeah. JK This next year will be funner with a different scoring system and a Grand Prize for the Overall winner + a couple smaller prizes throughout the year as well. (Not every event though). I'll PM you later Rob with a question I have about all of this.

VanHooliganX
12-10-2012, 10:45 AM
How the hell that happened;)

Great review of the show Dr.D.It was a night of surprising wins and without enough finishes i must say.For the next show I'm hoping Freakshow will win the TUF

Dunno, I thought I had ya ;D

Only 3 left but I think 1st, 2nd and 3rd have been decided unless 1 of us misses an event.

FLWWEFan
12-11-2012, 10:33 AM
I finally won one of these! Looking foward to next year's contest with the new additions.

Darkside Ron Garvin
12-11-2012, 11:17 AM
My placement obviously shows just how close I follow UFC these days...

Damn, I need to watch more than just TNA, the NFL, Fringe, and Suits!

magglis
12-11-2012, 02:54 PM
How many events do we still have for this year?

Dr. Death
12-12-2012, 08:51 AM
How many events do we still have for this year?

There are 3 events left for the year:

1. UFC on FX 6: Sotiropoulos vs. Pearson (http://www.mmajunkie.com/events/detail/ufc-on-fx-6-sotiropoulos-vs-pearson) (Also known as TUF Smashes)

Date: December 14, 2012 (This Friday)
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Venue: Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre
Broadcast: FX, FUEL TV

2. The Ultimate Fighter 16 Finale (http://www.mmajunkie.com/events/detail/the-ultimate-fighter-16-finale)

Date: December 15, 2012 (This Saturday)
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Venue: The Joint at Hard Rock Hotel and Casino
Broadcast: FX, FUEL TV, Facebook

3. UFC 155: Dos Santos vs. Velasquez 2 (http://www.mmajunkie.com/events/detail/ufc-155-dos-santos-vs-velasquez-2)

Date: December 29, 2012 (Saturday)
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Venue: MGM Grand Garden Arena
Broadcast: Pay-per-view, FX, Facebook